Skip to content ↓

Leadership & Governance

Meet our Senior Leadership Team

Sarah Crookes
Head Teacher

Wendy Byrne
Deputy Head Teacher

Caroline Smith
Assistant Head Teacher

Matthew Smith
Assistant Head Teacher

Claire Spall
Assistant Head Teacher

Laura Deal
SENDCo & Inclusion Lead

Michelle Bernard
Executive Head Teacher


Each Compass school has a local school committee composed of a group of volunteers drawn from the community, each bringing a range of skills, expertise and professional experience. Our Governors provide essential links between the school, parents/carers and the local community. Governors work with staff and parents in an atmosphere of co-operation to provide the best possible framework for educating our children. They are involved in all aspects of school life and meet regularly with leadership teams.

Governors fulfil their responsibilities by:

  • Supporting the school and its ambition by working strategically to develop and implement vision and ethos;
  • Ensuring that the children are receiving the best education and achieve the best outcomes by monitoring the quality of teaching and standards across the school;
  • Making sure the school uses its financial resources effectively and in line with the budget plan;
  • Accounting to all stakeholders for the school’s performance and for the decisions they make.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor at our school or would like to hear more about what the role involves, please email

Susan Skidmore
Chair of Governors

Susan can be contacted at via our school office

Governance Structure

Susan Skidmore Chair of Governors (Interim)
Karen Sinclair Governor
Sarah Crookes Head Teacher
Maria del mar Hunt Governor
Phillip Sacre Governor
James Bloyce Governor
Samantha Armstrong Governor
Craig Pryer Governor
Wendy Byrne Staff Governor

Please see attachment below for Local School Committee attendance and pecuniary interests

Please click here to access Trust-wide governance information

Data Protection

The Compass Partnership of Schools' Data Protection Officer is the DPO Centre.
If you have a data protection query, please click here for contact information.